South Island Map

Wellington New Zealand City Guide

The South Island of New Zealand is officially called "Te Waipoumanu".  Approximately 25% of New Zealand's population lives on this island.

The Southern Alps runs down the centre of the island.  The highest peak in the Alps is 3,724 metres (12,219 feet).

South Island of New Zealand
Akaroa, New Zealand

The west coast of the island receives most of the precipitation on the island.  Christchurch on the east coast receives only 25 inches of rain annually.

View map of New Zealand's South Island.


Next Page